If you no longer need a general ledger account in Xero, you may want to archive it instead of deleting it. Archived accounts can be restored, so it is a safer option than deletion. In this guide, we will archive one of the general ledger accounts set up in Xero’s demo company.
Chart of Accounts Section in Xero
To get to the right area of Xero, go to Accounting → Chart of accounts from the main menu.
How to Archive an Account
For this exercise, we will archive the account 260 – Other Revenue. This account is unused by Xero’s demo company so it is a good candidate for archiving. To archive the account:
- Tick the checkbox next to the name of the account.
- Click on Archive at the top of the accounts list.
A pop-up box will appear informing you that the account will be removed from any contacts using it as a default account. Click on OK once you are sure you want to archive the account.
You should now be taken back to the main chart of account screen where you can see that the account 260 – Other Revenue no longer appears.
That’s all you need to do to archive a general ledger account in Xero. If you want to restore the account from the archive, see our tutorial on how to restore a general ledger account.