If you no longer need a general ledger account in Xero, you may be able to delete it. In this guide, we will delete one of the general ledger accounts set up in Xero’s demo company and also have a look at some accounts that cannot be deleted.
Chart of Accounts Section in Xero
To get to the right area of Xero, go to Accounting → Chart of accounts from the main menu.
How to Delete an Account
For this exercise, we will delete the account 260 – Other Revenue. I have chosen this account because it appears to be unused by the demo company. To delete the account:
- Tick the checkbox next to the name of the account.
- Click on Delete at the top of the accounts list.
A pop-up box will appear informing you that deleting accounts is permanent and cannot be undone. Once you are sure you want to go ahead with the account deletion click on OK.
You should now be taken back to the main chart of account screen where you can see that the account 260 – Other Revenue no longer appears. That’s all you need to do to delete a general ledger account in Xero. Now let’s have a look at which accounts cannot be deleted.
Some accounts in Xero’s general ledger cannot be deleted because they are locked. This is symbolised by a padlock instead of a checkbox beside the name of the account:
Other accounts cannot be deleted because they have been used. If you try to delete the account 090 – Business Bank Account in the demo company, Xero will tell you that the account will be archived instead of being deleted:
By archiving the account instead of deleting it, Xero retains the data that has been posted to the account, ensuring the general ledger still balances and that reports are correct.