If you have a contact that you no longer need in Xero, you can archive it. Xero does not allow contacts to be deleted, so archiving them is the only way to get them off your list of contacts. In this tutorial, we will archive a contact in Xero’s demo company.
Contacts Section in Xero
To get to the right place in Xero, go to Contacts → All Contacts from the main menu:
How to Archive a Contact in Xero
Let’s archive the first contact on the list. First, tick the checkbox on the right-hand side of the contact’s name:
Then click on the Options button at the top of the list of contacts and choose Archive from the drop-down list:
A pop-up box will appear asking whether you are sure you want to archive the contact. If you are sure, click the Archive button to continue:
The contact has now been archived. You will no longer see the contact in the contacts list. To learn how to restore a contact, follow the instructions in our tutorial on how to restore a contact a Xero.