Xero Payroll Pay Runs – How to Reset a Pay Run

by

If you have made changes to a draft pay run in Xero payroll that you that you want to undo, you can reset it to its original draft version. In this tutorial, we will use Xero’s demo company to reset a draft pay run.

Pay Runs in Xero Payroll

To get to the right area of Xero payroll:

  1. Go to Settings → Payroll in the main menu.
  2. Click on the Pay Runs tab.

0050-xero-payroll-pay-runs-reset-01

How to Reset a Pay Run

Xero’s demo company should have a draft pay run saved and ready for you to amend and reset. If this is not the case, please add a draft pay run by following the steps in our guide on how to set up a pay run in Xero payroll. Although not necessary for this exercise, if you want to make changes to the pay run before reverting it, follow the steps in our tutorial on how to edit a pay run.

Once you have a draft pay run ready to go, click anywhere on its row in the Draft Pay Run section:

0050-xero-payroll-pay-runs-reset-02

On the next screen containing the list of the employees included in the pay run, scroll to the bottom and click on the Reset Pay Run button:

0050-xero-payroll-pay-runs-reset-03

A pop-up box will appear asking if you are sure you want to reset the pay run. If you are sure, click on Yes:

0050-xero-payroll-pay-runs-reset-04

The pay run will now be reset to its original draft form. Any changes you made to individual pay templates will be lost. That’s all you need to do to reset a pay run in Xero. From here you can post, delete or amend or save the pay run and come back to it later.

You’re All Set!

That’s it for this lesson. Find lots more helpful articles via the main menu or check out our main blog page here.